Although countries with long average working hours are economically successful, This often has some negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many developed nations in the world achieve their substantial economic growth by extending hours of labor, which is resulting in the degrading of social life and the suffering of residents. In my opinion, I totally agree with this idea.

To begin with, the economic benefits from increased working time are undeniable. A greater amount of time allocated on working can optimize the production capability as well as enhancing both quantity and quality of the products, which will bring back an enormous profit to the businesses. For example, Japan, one of the greatest economy in the world, is well-known for its significant economic achievements by making full use of human resource in the while lacking of natural advantages. Therefore, it is obvious that a country’s economy development may be largely attributed to the working hours of its civilians.

However, this phenomenon has serious negative impacts on society. Firstly, with a long time of consistent laboring, individuals are like to suffer from both physical and mental health issues. In particular, insufficient self-care and rest owing to excessive workload can deteriorate body functions, reducing life expectancy. Moreover, stress and anxiety are of concerning as they lead to severe consequences such as psychologic instability or even suicides. In fact, economy powerhouses like Japan or South Korea record far higher suicide rate than other developing countries. Furthermore, children and elders have to face a lack of attention and caring for the family’s workforce, especially for young people who the absence of parental education and restriction might encourage to conduct misbehavior.

In conclusion, despite the economic advantages associated with extended working time, I believe that its adversary influences have on human life, involving health alleviation and family relationship should not be neglected.