Although countries with long average working hours are economically successful, This often has some negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is often argued that countries where people work longer hours tend to be more economically prosperous but face significant social problems. I agree with this assertion and I would evid my thesis.

One the one hand, I believe that there are some reasons why working longer than administrative hours could make the country be more economically successfully than others. The first reason is that working overtime could brings a lot of outcomes. In the contract that people sign with their own company, it has terms and conditions that if they work beyond office hours, they will have money correlated with the time they work. In addition, in the era of peace, economics plays a key role in global competitiveness. Longer working hours is crucial in transforming raw materials into finished goods and services, which significantly contribute to a country’s GDP. For example, when comparing between China and Angola, it is clear that China superior in all economic aspects, especially for workers, about more than 20,000 USD per person while in Angola this figure is only 1,000 USD per person.

On the other hand, I agree that working for long time could brings about negative aspects for society. Firstly, working for a long time is blamed for potential physical and mental health problems. Worker’s rest and sleep time can be deprived, leading to harmful health outcomes. For instance, although France is one of economic successful nations, its suicide rate which is related to work has climbed recently. Secondly, working too much can lead to population shortage of the future. High work pressure can lead to more people focusing on work instead of finding happiness and family. It can cause population shortage effects for the future, especially children. For example, Japan is one of the highest economic country, but the figure for its natural birth rate was low, so the government encourage citizens to make baby or even migrate person who are have pregant to have the nationality.

In conclusion, I agree that working overtime could brings more economy for country, and it may brings many detrimental effects for society.