Although it is widely recognized that cars damage the environment, their manufacture and use continue to increase. Why is this the case? How could this increase be controlled?

That the car industry bring about enviromental contamination is widely acknowledged. Nevertheless, people continue to produce and use these vehicles extensively. This essay will highlight the reason behind this trend and suggest several ways to limit cars’ production and usage.

There are several reasons why the number of cars and car users continue to rise significantly. Firstly, in many countries, people regard efficiency and personal image more than enviromental degradation. This may stems from lack of education or plain ignorance. In addition, many developing nations may witness an increase in the sales of car as living conditions improve. As for the rise of cars manufacturing, this can be attributed to the higher demand of the customers and better technology used in the manufacturing process.

However, there are several strategies that can be used to solve this problem. To begin with, governments can impose taxes on the automobile industry, which can force manufacturers to raise cars’ price. To take an example, in China, any cars that has negative carbon emission is taxed on average 25% of its price, in comparison to 0% of a enviromental vehicle. Furthermore, governments, individuals and organisations can bring about campaigns and educational programmes aimed at reducing enviromental illiteracy. For instance, according to the Enviromental Research Organisation, Carpooling Day, an initiative designated to reduce car usage via the promotion of carpooling, brings about a 15℅ reduction in car usage in yearly UK car usage.

To conclude, factors leading to rising number of cars manufactured and usage include enviromental illiteracy, changes in living standards. This can be partly addressed through heavy taxation and education of the masses.