Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that being honest all the time is the most important factor in human relations. I agree that we cannot deny the importance of telling the truth in a relationship. However, there might be some situations and times where hiding some parts of reality can be better for relationships.

On the one hand, trust is a building block of relationships, and without the existence of truth, we cannot build that. Regardless of the type of relationship, the sides in that mutual connection should be honest with each other in important and life-affecting issues. This is where trust is built. Imagine a romantic relationship. If partners do not tell the truth to their lovers, there will be trust issues, which completely have a negative effect on that relationship.

On the other hand, there might be some circumstances where telling the truth is not the best option. This case is true when these ”innocent lies” will not affect the future of the relationship and the person that we are in relation with. Let us take the case of the relationship between me and my mother. My mother is so strict about sleeping schedules and tries to impose this on me. However, sometimes I go to sleep late at night due to my studies. When she asks, I lie to her about that, which I think is innocent. In that way, we are both peaceful, and there is no need for any argument that has a negative impact on our well-being and nerves.

To summarize, I believe that telling the truth is crucial for forming trust in mutual relations. However, choosing not to tell the truth might be an option in some cases for the well-being of both sides.