Always telling the truth is the most important factor in a relationship. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The importance of honesty in relationships has become a subject of debate in recent years. From my point of view, while i agree that honesty is a key factor on which strong relationships are built, sometimes people can lie, depending on situations.

To begin with, the first and profound reason for this phenomenon is that truth is the essential foundation of establishing relationships with individuals. When people are honest with their loved ones it can also foster essential qualities in each other, such as trust and respect. Furthermore, being truthful, people can be perfect role models to others, especially children. To illustrate, when parents never lie or keep anything hidden, they apply this feature to their children without directly teaching them.

On the other hand, some circumstances require pink lies which are done with good intentions. Some people avoid hurting people’s feelings and they tell lies which are considered harmless. For instance, complementing someone’s appearance even if they do not look great, to make them feel better could be seen as a ‘pink lie’. Moreover, sometimes with holding the truth people can prevent serious conflicts which can end with damage to maintain peace in relationships, especially with sensitive mates.

To conclude, while honesty can play very significant role in relationships, it can also strain it for the reasons i have outlined above. Therefore, instead of causing emotional pain, individuals should focus on expressing their ideas in the right way.