Ambition is a positive quality for people to have in society today. Is "Ambition" a positive or negative characteristic?

Some groups of individuals opine that having an ambitious personality is a good characteristic and they must have ambition in their life. From my perspective, this is a largely positive development, although its negative effects should not be ignored.

To begin with, the first and foremost reason is that it gives motivation to achieve goals. This means that people who are ambitious in their life, have to focus on what they want to study and how to achieve that. From my personal experience, I have decided to move aboard and achieve my master degree because of my clear vision. It is easier for me to do hardworks according to that. The second convincing reason encourages self-improvement. To elaborate, the path of a successful career is, if they make any mistake, then they can easily know what is their mistake and how to improvise themselves.

Focusing on negative development creates a stressful environment. In other words, if any individual does not have goals, then they struggle more after a certain period of time ,and, they suffer from depression. Moreover, it can lead to unhealthy relationships. If few individuals focus too much on goal and success ,and, then neglect their family, friends, and society. For instance, the UPSC aspirants are too serious about their career, and do not think families, and friends may create introverted personalities, and they are not comfortable even with their family members.

In conclusion, being ambitious has both significant advantages and disadvantages. While it offers certain benefits such as self development and having a clear vision , the negative aspects should not be overlooked like suffering from depression, and damaging relationships, and a balanced approach is required.