An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

There has been a trend where people opt for cosmetic surgery to enhance their outward appearance. There are some reasons that can be attributed to this, and I also believe that the disadvantages of this trend are outweighed by its benefits.

There are two main reasons why people choose to pursue cosmetic surgery. The first reason is the omnipresence of the internet in our digital age. This can be elucidated by the fact that social media is nowadays an indispensable part of our daily life, thereby online advertising is also more common. Therefore, if people catch some advertisements related to beauty products featuring beauty models, they will idealize the definition of beauty standards and start gravitating towards cosmetic facilities to change their appearance. Another reason is that it can increase self-confidence and self-esteem. To exemplify, people who have congenital disabilities can improve their physical flaws through surgery procedures. The recent and ongoing advances in technology are more likely to help them overcome those health afflictions, which brings them a better quality of life.

However, I am convinced that the idea of undergoing cosmetic surgery is disadvantageous. Firstly, health risks can arise in society. This is because individuals, especially those in poor physical conditions, will be more likely to have serious complications, which detrimentally impact their mental well-being and even cause death. Secondly, cosmetic surgery does not always fully guarantee and meet their expectations. Consequently, they will become more obsessed and overdo surgical enhancements, continually seeking and achieving their desired ideals, which lead to financial instability and debt.

In conclusion, there are several reasons that can be ascribed to this trend, including the popularity of social network platforms and increasing confidence and self-esteem. However, I believe the drawbacks of this phenomenon are also significant, such as health risks and financial strain.