An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

There is a school of people who hold the positive viewpoint of having minor surgery so as to upgrade their appearance, whether the rest of the crowd supposes that this is a negative thriving in this day and age. From my observation, the phenomenon has both beneficial and adverse influences on society.

In terms of a positive perspective, cosmetic surgery offers people, especially women confidence in their daily life. The reason is that these kinds of surgery could improve their prejudice on their outlook, which affects several scenes of life such as the ability to assimilate into society. A person with atypical limbs tends to choose a minimally invasive surgery in order to have more functional and also normal looking limbs. Furthermore, state-of-the-art technologies in research and medicine in plastic surgeries are becoming more and more affordable to people of a variety of economic backgrounds.

Despite a number of benefits of invasive surgery, there are several drawbacks still intact. A telling negative viewpoint is that cosmetic surgery exacerbates the problems of beauty standards and body image. For instance, there is a variety of influencers on the internet interfere with surgery so as to have a “dreamed body”. Besides, in this society, people tend to have cosmetic surgery as an embodiment of their prosperous financial conditions.

In conclusion, even though cosmetic surgery could change people’s lives and future, this still has adverse features. However, from my point of view, the merits of cosmetic surgery in this day and age overshadow its drawbacks.