An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

There has been a trend that people opt to experience comestic surgery for enhancing their outward aspects. There are some reasons can be attributed to this, and I also believe that the disavantages of this trend are outweighed by its benefits.

There are two main reasons why people choose to pursue comestic surgery. The first reason is the omnipresence of internet in our digital age. This could be elucidated by the fact that social media nowadays is an indispensable part of our daily life, thereby online advertising are also more common. Therefore, if people catch some advertisements related to beauty products with beauty models, they will idealize the defination of beauty standards and start gravitating towards cosmetic facility to change their appearance. Another reason is that it can increase self-confidence and self-esteem. To exemplify, people who have congenital disabilties can improve their physical flaws through surgery procedures. The recent and ongoing advances in technology are more likely to help them overcome those health afflictions, which brings them a better quality of life.

However, I am convinced that the idea of undergoing comestic surgery shifts is disadvantegous. Firstly, health risks can arise among society. This is because individuals, especially people in poor physical conditions will be more likely to have serious complications, which detrimentally impact on their mental well-being and even cause death. Secondly, cosmetic surgerie does not always fully guarantee and meet their expectations. Consequently, they will become more obsessed and overdoing surgical enhancements, continually seek and achieve their desired ideals, which lead to financial instability and debt.

In conclusion, there are several reasons can be ascribed to this trend, including the popularity of social network platforms and increasing confidence and self-esteem. However, I believe the drawbacks of this phenomenon are also significant, such as health risks and financial strain.