An increasing number of people are now using the internet to meet new people and socialise. Some people think it has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated.

More people have been using digital platforms with the intention of meeting people from different backgrounds. While some people believe online networking can improve social life, there are those who think this practice will only make people less communicative. This essay will discuss both the benefits and downsides of virtual communication.

On the one hand, the main users can discover a wide range of same-interest groups online in which they can communicate freely. Making new friends is relatively comfortable and effortless when individuals have matching enthusiasm in a particular field. For instance, two K-drama fans are able to talk to each other about their favorite shows without worrying if their love for Korean series is judged. Moreover, the majority of people with less popular interests struggle with finding someone in common around their location. Easy access to create and join online communities in which people from various places interact gives them a sense of belonging and helps build enjoyable relationships. Thus, it is reasonable that social media can improve communication.

On the other hand, online friendships seem unfavorable because they are inconsistent and likely to ruin real-world communication. Rarely do most people online communicate regularly due to their busy schedules. As a result, it is hard to maintain long-term relationships virtually. In addition, users who are extremely invested in virtual connections lack face-to-face interaction. Over time, they might feel overwhelmed or unsatisfied while communicating with acquaintances in daily life due to their online networking addiction. These issues can eventually push someone towards isolation.

In conclusion, social media can provide opportunities to find valuable connections, yet being overly dependent on it can lead to undesirable consequences such as loneliness. In my opinion, balancing online networking and offline interaction is the best way to socialize efficiently, thereby avoiding the side effects.