An increasing number of people choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, cosmetic surgery has become increasingly popular among people, allowing them to enhance their appearance. This is largely due to the advancement of technology, as people struggled to find pleasure in their current appearance. Although it may provide happiness for a certain period, I believe it is a detrimental shift because it has potential risks.

To begin with, one of the significant reasons more and more people are choosing cosmetic surgery is technological advancement. Many people believe that it can transform their body structure, such as facial features and skin colour, as new medical technology is constantly developing in this field. For example, if someone’s physical appearance is severely damaged in an accident, such as a fire or a car crash, cosmetic surgery can help reconstruct and restore their appearance. Moreover, people tend to obsess over having their idols and celebrities’ appearance, who is considered their fans.

It is widely believed that it is a negative development because it could sometimes cause severe damage to patients if they receive cosmetic treatments. It can cause long-term diseases, such as facial burning, stress, or anxiety. Furthermore, cosmetic surgeries require a huge budget, which may lead to financial challenges. For instance, many people choose to have a loan to proceed with such treatment, so it sometimes becomes difficult to pay back the loan instalment with their daily necessities. For these reasons, cosmetic surgery is an unreasonable choice for those who don’t need it.

In conclusion, cosmetic surgery is chosen by people mainly because they are likely to believe in technology, and their desire drives them to pursue it. Although it brings advantages to people, it also causes financial problems and certain diseases. Therefore, it is a negative development, and people should avoid it if they do not want the unnecessary side effects of these treatments.