An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation?

With the better opportunities available in cities, in recent times, it has become increasingly common for specialists such as teachers and doctors, preferring to work in industrialised countries rather than remaining in their own underdeveloped countries. While this problem has a negative effects on brain drain and staff shortage in the education and health sectors, in order to tackle this problem, the financial welfare and working conditions for these social groups should be improved.

To begin with, the emigration of skilled personnel abroad results in the loss of knowledge and insufficient staff. Because of not all people in the country are able to move on abroad the lack of specialists in the healthcare industry and the shortage of teachers in schools can have serious difficulties and impact on country’s economy. The absence of doctors lead to poor healthcare services making it difficult for patients to receive proper medical treatment, while the shortage of teachers in schools lowers the standard of education. As a result of combination of these issues, both the healthcare and education systems begin to collapse, preventing the nation from developing and ultimately dragging undeveloped countries even further backward.

There are two possible solutions to overcome with this problem, First of all, it is necessary to increase salaries for professionals, it can boost the desire of people to stay in their countries. Secondly, preventing all facilities as same as industrialized nations. Although, it would be hard for underdeveloped country to establish such systems but government communities asking for support or loans from other countries might be a good approach, later, after leaving everything behind, it would be much easier to repay the debt.

In conclusion, although people naturally seek better living conditions, offering stronger support and opportunities to developing societies could help reduce the negative effects of brain drain.