An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation?

In current times, the majority of skilled and qualified workers from undeveloped and poor countries are moving abroad for jobs with favourable wages. This tendency can result in particular problems, such as a decrease in the level of employment in poorer countries and, consequently, absence of progress in these countries, and overcrowding effect in the developed ones. From my point of view, to tackle this issue, governments should accept particular programmes aimed to improve the financial situation of the country that would develop the quality of life of skilled employees.

To begin with, most intelligent and diligent workers, such as engineers, IT specialists, lawyers, and doctors, move to foreign countries where their skills and abilities are truly valued. For example, most IT professionals in Azerbaijan are eager to work in foreign companies, such as Microsoft, Apple, where their salaries are higher than in their hometown. This migration trend leads to problems, such as low unemployment rates in poor countries and overcrowded workplaces in rich ones, where there is a high competition for employees. To give an example, there are more employees in European countries rather than vacancies.

On the other hand, there are particular solutions that could address these problems. One of the solutions is to accept concrete financial incentives to increase the salary levels of skilled workers. For instance, the Ministry of Finance in Azerbaijan accepted a strategy plan for the new payment system, which could provide professional workers with higher salaries. Another option is to encourage employees to be interested in working for the development of their homeland and to not move abroad by accepting social programmes calling for patriotism and unity for their hometown’s sake.

Taking everything into consideration, the recent trend of moving to foreign countries for better wages for their occupations can cause some drawbacks, resulting in the continuing regress of poor countries. In my opinion, to solve this problem, authorities should take certain measures to protect their countries from unemployment.