Art and music have always been fundamental elements of all societies. Do you think art and music still have a place in today's modern world of technology? Should children spend more time learning art and music in school?

Every society has its distinctive style in art and music. The importance of such ways of human expression is even more pronounced in the contemporary world of technology because they reflect people’s thoughts, feelings, and culture. This is why we should encourage students to learn these elegant methods of communication, and, although they require talent, and not everybody can become an artist or a musician, teaching them in schools is still beneficial because it fosters creativity and innovation.

Our modern digital age is more concerned with crude facts and numbers than emotions and beauty. Due to this, art and music are currently more important than ever, as they serve as demonstrations of the populations’ deep worries, beliefs, and aspirations. A striking example of this is how Cairokee, a musical band in Egypt, could reflect people’s hopes, needs, and feelings during the period of the revolution in 2011.

Art and music should be taught at schools. This is because to various reasons; not only are they an essential part of culture as previously discussed, but they also encourage students to be creative, innovative, and to reflect on themselves and their emotions. For instance, a youngster who is always encouraged to compose pieces of music or draw pictures that reflect their emotions will always be more in touch with their inner self than one who is only interested in crude subjects.

In summary, art and music are essential part of every society because they reflect the people’s culture, and teaching them at schools is very beneficial as it fosters creativity and self reflection.