Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think this is? What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

Art plays an important role in every culture in the world. While science, technology and business has become more popular recently, the interest in art has been decreasing. I think, global economic problems, fast-paced world and developments in science, technology together with different business areas are reasons of losing interest in art. However, there are solutions to attract people to art again.

Firstly, people must think more about economic issues recently. Economy of countries are affected by the Covid pandemic in a bad way. Governments and companies have turned their focus to improve the financials. Individuals have also been looking for second jobs to maintain high living standards. While people have been trying to find solutions to economical problems, interest in art is being lost. Secondly, today’s world is a fast-pacing world. People spend more time to other activities such as travelling, education and sports. Especially, during a weekday, it is almost impossible for a family to spend time for art because they usually leave their home early morning to go to school, work and come back around 8 hours later. It is also difficult to find time to spend in art in the weekends because most of the children have additional lessons or working mothers must spend time for cleaning or cooking. Lastly, the recent developments of science, and having different business areas make art less interesting. People are more focused to know about the new treatment options for diseases or more interested in the news about exploring the space. Especially with the development of technologic devices such as wearable devices or mobile phones are more entertaining for people. These developments are not only for entertainment, but they also attract people because they are promising for new business opportunities. With all these changes, people are less likely to spend time to art.

The solutions to attract more people to art would potentially be including art classes to the schools and promoting art by offering free events by councils or governments. If children find a meaning in art at schools, they will possibly continue to spend time on art when they grow up. Additionally, art is usually an expensive activity and when people don’t have to spend money for these activities, they will be more willing to engage with art.

In conclusion, art is crucial for cultures however it is less demanding with the increase in the interest to science, technology, and business. Educating children at schools on art and offering free events would be possibly engage more people to art.