Artificial intelligence is becoming more common in schools and universities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development for students?

The issue of schools and universities using artificial intelligence is becoming more controversial. While it is true that artificial intelligence can make students overly dependent and it also has the potential for inaccurate information, it can also aid students in terms of their assignment tasks, such as essays and class projects. Also, Artificial intelligence can support students in their creativity.

On the one hand, a major disadvantage of artificial intelligence is that AI can make students overly dependent. A student who is likely to open a search engine will be less likely to use their logic, because the sophistication of AI has made the student indifferent to doing anything. Moreover, it can also be problematic due to the potential for inaccurate information that AI makes from data and patterns that it has in memory. AI works on the data that it has, and there is a great chance of having wrong data that can lead to misinformation. For example, in 2023, many users reported that ChatGPT occasionally mentions dates or historical data that are incorrect, such as the first human landing on the moon in 1968, whereas the actual date is 1969.

On the other hand, Artificial intelligence also offers the advantage of aiding students with their assignment tasks. Many students were helped with artificial intelligence in their homework tasks, such as paperwork and research, with the AI’s biggest ability for searching for good information that is compatible with students. Another benefit is that AI would support students in their creativity. AI will provide feedback and suggestions when students share their creative ideas with the intelligence systems. For instance, machine intelligence will aid students when they need to brainstorm for a writing task, not to help with answering the task.

In conclusion, there are some concerns about whether artificial intelligence can make students overly dependent and also has the potential for inaccurate information. Nonetheless, AI will aid students in terms of their assignment tasks and support students in their creativity.