Artificial intelligence will soon replace teachers in the classroom.

In recent years, artificial intelligence has seen great advancements and it’s now seen as a possible replacement for teachers in class. In my opinion, this is an absurd suggestion. While AI is a useful educational tool, it can never do a teacher’s job.

What teachers do in class is invaluable, a machine can’t interact with students, find their weaknesses, give them feedback and help improve them like a human educator can. Furthermore, Students need role models to look up to and many teachers hold that admirable position in the eyes of their students. Not only do teachers help their students learn abstract sciences, but also they help pupils who have personal or behavioural issues. For example, many students who get diagnosed with ADHD or autism are referred to their doctors by school because all it takes one special teacher to pay attention to their students not just academically but as humans.

On the other hand, there are some arguments against physical classrooms as the commute to and from school and sitting still for 8 hours in a school setting is seen as a waste of time when a plethora of learning materials are available at the click of a button. I think that this issue can be solves by having interactive online lessons. This way, the teacher is not eliminated by AI and the convenience of students is still taken into account.

To sum up, I think that AI can never take the place of human educators because teaching isn’t just about stuffing information into the brains of students, It’s building a trusting relationship between a student and a teacher where success is the shared goal.