Artificial intelligence will soon replace teachers in the classroom.

I am of the understanding that implementing AI is an economical way of getting certain tasks done without having to employ real humans. AI is meant to interact like humans would usually do, but I do not think that it can completely take over all human tasks or jobs, for example teaching young children.

Human beings are not only flesh and blood, but spiritual and emotional beings as well. For example, small children need the feeling of being loved and cared for, this they usually receive from their caretakers, parents, or teachers. When children struggle to communicate their emotional needs, they usually call out to a grownup or someone that they trust. When they don’t understand something in the classroom for instance, they would ask the teacher for help, and this usually requires some form of physical interaction or closeness. Most humans thrive on human interaction and a good old hug. Personally, I don’t think AI can provide that kind of comfort.

Circumstances sometimes come in the way of face-to-face teaching, but luckily, we now have other ways of teaching students. If not face-to-face, we can use technology. Teachers can still interact with students via distant learning or other online platforms. The important thing to keep in mind here, is that most humans prefer interaction with other humans, it creates a feeling of belonging and safety.

In conclusion, I personally would want my children to be taught by a teacher who can express love and warmth. Most parents prefer that their child feels safe and secure in the classroom. I don’t agree that artificial intelligence will be able to fulfil all the roles of a teacher but can be a beneficial asset in the classroom alongside a teacher.