As communication and transport develop, people easily get in touch with each other, and this lead to a phenomenon called globalization. Some people fear that this will result in people forgetting their cultural identity.

People all over the world tend to follow the same trends and behave similarly as social media platforms facilitate communication among people regardless of distance and sophisticated commuting solutions connect overseas. Some argue that this will contribute to assimilation of cultural identities. In my perspective, it is mostly dependent on people since some folks could conserve their national identity.

Admittedly, people, especially youngsters, are willing to mimic global trends, such as fashion and music, since a product of a company or a celebrity can easily distribute and be advertised across the continents through enormous and fast delivery transport and the internet. In addition to this, companies use innovative methods to promote their products to sell in any part of the world, such as paying to influencers for imposing the product on their followers. Through these ways, people across the globe utilize the same things or behave similarly. Furthermore, developing and expanding business centers attracts more people to the same geographical area which then these people are required use the same language to communicate, which is English, leading to people forgetting their mother tongue and traditional customs. An example for this situation may be the Netherlands as Dutch people prioritize English in professional and daily life.

On the other hand, globalization does not always assimilate people. Some people are strict to preserve their national heritage and demand foreigners to respect and adapt their own language and behaviours. Even though the economy grows and brings more and more people from other nations, conservative nations in certain countries do not absorb external things and persist on their own. For instance, although China is a business hub, but Chinese is still main language in the country and is required in workplaces. Germany can also be shown as an example as Germans also do not like use foreign languages and diffuse their own language and customs in all sectors.

In conclusion, it is my belief that while there are some nations that adopt other cultures as the growing network and transport facilities, I think it mostly depends on the people.