As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Nowadays, the increase in transport sector and proliferation of mass communication contributes substantially to globalization, when many communities become more similar. While some individuals consider this as a negative phenomenon because they are afraid that it leads to the loss of cultural identity, I completely disagree with this opinion and believe that globalization has a huge positive impact on people’ understanding of themselves, especially in terms of culture, because they can realize their uniqueness by comparing with others and find more information about their communities.

First of all, when individuals start to learn more about other countries, they realize the differences between various cultures. Not only does this allow people understand their own uniqueness, but it also contributes to the bonding among specific groups. Finding others who stick to the same traditions and moral principles encourages the affinity in such cultural communities and even nations. Therefore, people begin to appreciate more their cultural identity and maintain customs and patterns of behaviour. For instance, Japanese people still remain a close community where individuals respect their heritage and various traditions, even though they discover other cultures.

Moreover, thanks to the globalization, it becomes possible to find information via various sources and acquire more knowledge about specific cultures. Today, people can easily visit places which are connected with the history of their communities. In addition, they can find their relatives in other countries. For example, there are American shows about genealogy where people discover their past, find their ancestors, so they feel more involved in their communities.

In conclusion, although some people might see globalization as a threat to the cultural identity, I am sure that this phenomenon could help people reinforce their sense of cultural identity.