As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the age of industrialization, making the greatest possible profit is supposed to be the main purpose of any business. While this may be true to some extent, I believe the responsibilities of businesses should include making money and making contributions to the community. This can help not only the businesses to grow but also whole country to develop.

It goes without saying that earning profits is the ultimate aim of every company. The first reason to be mentioned is businesses pay taxes for the government. With that money, the government can build infrastructures such as hospitals, schools, and parks to take care of citizens’ mental and physical well-being, which can increase the standard of living of a certain country. Moreover, alongside the development of businesses, more jobs are created. A profitable company will consider expanding their business by building up other branches or investing overseas. The necessity for a larger number of employees is prominent, which can help solve the unemployment problem. On the other hand, social responsibilities should also be seen as a long-term strategy for businesses. Firstly, businesses cannot earn profits without a healthy environment. Companies have responsibilities to protect mother nature, which provides them with various materials, as well as the users who consume almost all of their products. Strengthening mutual beliefs is a wise strategy. In addition, big successful corporations can contribute to the quality of life of society through charity and financial scholarships. This is an investment in the future of those companies. For instance, universities often organize contests with a big award to support promising young generations. By doing so, they gain a lot of attention from society, especially from the talented individuals who can become their efficient employees one day.

In conclusion, development of industry nowadays gives businesses various opportunities to earn high profit. These businesses, however, need to take these advantages not only to bolster the operations but also to improve the quality of life of the community.