Because of the covid epidemic,many people prefer to work or study from home instead of going to their workplace or university What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The covid epidemic caused a popularisation of studying and working distantly at home instead of going to the workplace or university. The advantage of this development is the convenience for people because of the freedom in schedule. On the other hand, some people cannot stay disciplined during distanse learning and get irresposible.

The primary advantage of online learning is the flexibility in timetable. The person on remote work is not chained by busy schedules and sitting in a crowded noisy office but have more time for themselves to spend with their families or friends while studying in a cozy atmosphere at home without distructing elements. For instance, BBC NEWS report shows that 35% of students who study online have more time for their private life activities compare to those who learn offline.

In contrast, individuals with bad self dicipline are most likely to face a decline in productivity. This is usually caused by a feeling of independence that appears when the boundaries between workplace and home are vague, students stop studying as efficient as they used to because there is no one to supervise them. For example, Harvard University students on online education show 27% less efficiency than those who are going to university physically.

In conclusion, while working on distance gives you a flexible schedule and a comfortable place for work it also leads to a decrease in quality of the work done. Whether this development is beneficial depends on the circumstances and how citizens can adapt to the new format.