Bicycles are more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why are they still not popular in many places? What can be done to increase the popularity of cycling?

Nowadays, many people try to find comfortable ways to travel, but they do not think about the environment. The bicycle is the most environmentally friendly form of transport because it does not produce waste. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons behind the unpopularity of bicycles and how we can promote their use.

People have used bicycles for 80–90 years, but in the last decade, their popularity has decreased noticeably. Moreover, many people do not even know how to cycle because they are now used to transport options that require little effort, such as electric scooters. A recent study provided by the Ministry of Sports in London showed that only 27 percent of citizens can cycle, and just 5 percent use bicycles in their daily lives.

To increase the popularity of cycling, the government can designate one day a week without cars. This will not only encourage more people to cycle but will also help address pollution problems. Moreover, it can positively affect people’s health.

Additionally, the number of cycling roads needs to increase so that bicycles do not interfere with cars.

In conclusion, after studying this complex topic, I can say that people always try to find comfortable ways to travel, but it is also important to think about the environment and use eco-friendly transport.