Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that by increasing investment in public transport systems and by decreasing the cost of tickets, governments can play a key role in reducing air pollution. I strongly agree with this statement because increased funding will directly improve the conditions of public transport vehicles and reduced ticket prices will allow people to save money.

First and foremost, most people opt out of using local public transport as the facilities are not quite satisfactory. By increasing the funding of this department, governments can ensure that their vehicles are modern, clean, and safe , in addition to the construction of proper bus and train stops. Moreover, the transportation department will be able to increase the number of vehicles provided to the public. Provision of greater options and better services will convince the public to use these facilities and as a result, the number of vehicles on roads will significantly decrease, directly reducing the pollution caused by cars and motorcycles.

Furthermore, if the government focuses on reducing ticket prices, people will automatically be attracted towards public transportation, as they can save money on petrol. For example, a ride on the Dubai metro costs 5dhs regardless of the destination, whereas, cars can use petrol worth up to 100dhs on the same route. Hence, people prefer commuting via the metro rather than driving and consequently, the number of private vehicles decrease on the road.

To conclude, I strongly support the idea that by increasing funding and reducing prices of tickets , governments can reduce air pollution in their country as it allows people to save money and have better transport facilities.