Bullying is a big problem in many schools. What are the causes, and how can it be tackled?

These days, bullying has become an essential problem for students and the government facing the modern world. There are several reasons for this problem in terms of the lack of supervision, family issues, and various measures, including parental involvement and awareness programs, that can be taken to improve the problem of bullying.

One of the main reasons is a lack of supervision, in which teachers or staff fail to monitor students effectively, and bullies feel emboldened. Moreover, violent and aggressive content in social media can be a cause of such behavior. The second reason for this issue is family conflicts. This means arguments and problems in the family can negatively affect a child; thereby, bullies by showing violence can express their frustrations. Additionally, students might bully others to fit in with a group or assert their power. For instance, bullying occurs in scheduled areas such as the hallway or restroom.

There are numerous measures to mitigate the problem of bullying. One of the solutions is parental involvement. By doing regular discussions with teachers, students, and their parents, parents can control their behaviors and help them understand their mistakes. Another solution is to raise awareness. Students can organize special workshops and counseling sessions to make bullies understand the impact and consequences of their actions, especially on the victim. Additionally, schools should create a space for victims where they can report bullying without fear of retaliation. For example, in New Zealand, schools that implemented restorative justice practices saw a significant decrease in bullying incidents.

In conclusion, despite some obvious reasons, such as a lack of supervision and family issues, several measures can be taken to cope with the problem of bullying.