Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that there are constant traffic jams in many cities around the world. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary world, everything is materialistic and as a result of this people tend to buy more things. Thus, car ownership has elevated at a higher speed over the past three decades. However, it is not the only reason for traffic congestion in many urban around the world. This statement will be discussed in the following essay.

To commence with, the main fundamental factor for traffic is over growing population in addition to car ownership. Moreover, lack of public transport encourages people to commute by their own cars and the under construction of roads leads to traffic jam. Furthermore, traffic signals carry out vast amount of traffic in cities. During the peak hours traffic lights were not working, which resulted in confusion among the people. For instance, in my city traffic signals often does not work properly which leads to traffic violence.

To remedy this situation, government can take numerous solutions to discourage the people from buying their own cars. Metro trains can be implemented in the red-light areas and the availability of public transport frequently may reduce traffic jam. Additionally, public organisations can offer free passes for females in metro to encourage travel by train. To cite an example, in my country government offers free tickets for women to reduce traffic and time.

In conclusion, in my perspective, the given statement is partially true as there are different reasons for traffic congestion. Nonetheless, the government can also make some potential measure to overcome traffic and to reduce car ownership, that has surged rapidly over the past thirty years.