Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that there are constant traffic jams in many cities around the world. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the three decades, there has been significant growth in the number of car owners; thus, in many big cities, the number of traffic jams has increased as well. Some people consider that if governments take responsibility for tackling this problem and invest money in the construction of extra lanes on the road and restrict the number of car sales, it may help reduce problems related to traffic jams. I support this idea, and this essay will discuss how the growth of car purchases leads to problems related to traffic jams and provide supporting arguments for how such approaches may reduce their quantity.

First of all, nowadays, vehicles play a huge role in people’s lives, due to the fact that transport has eased our transportation, and for some people, it is a crucial part of their jobs. As a consequence, many people want to purchase cars as soon as possible. However, the more people buy cars, the less time we save, because growth in the number of car owners leads to traffic jams; as a result, it is now hard to reach a destination quickly. For example, during rush hour, it may take a couple of hours to drive around 2 km.

However, if governments pay attention to this issue and allocate money for the improvement of roads and participate in the engineering of extra lanes, problems can be solved easily, and it will be quicker to move along the road. In addition, the number of car sales needs to be limited, because it is impossible to expand roads endlessly. For instance, the construction of extra lanes will free up more space, which will help to drive quicker; however, it will not work unless authorities enforce restrictions on car purchasing.

To sum up, I agree that an increasing number of car owners is a positive trend, but work needs to be done on road engineering, because traffic jams may make the function of cars useless.