Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Lately shopping is increasingly becoming a way of spending leisure time. However, it is also a much-debated issue as people argue it has both advantages and disadvantages. This essay will discuss the reasons for its increasing popularity and the positive and negative effects.

To begin with, the introduction of online shopping has made it more convenient for people to shop when doing nothing. It can be easily accessed by downloading an app or visiting a website as opposed to the traditional way of shopping. Individuals can shop while doing anything, watching television for instance. Another factor that for the gain in popularity is social media. Many content creators post shopping haul videos as a way of promoting those brands while also giving discounts. This influences the followers to buy the items at a discounted price.

Individuals going in person shopping often can benefit from the physical activity. Walking for hours and lifting shopping bags can be considered a form of cardio. Research shows that shopping for women indirectly improves their mental health as well. During long stressful hours of work or study, shopping helps distract their minds. In addition to that, many jobs are created, as more and more shops are opening. It redues the unemployment rate.

While it has numerous benefits, shopping has people more materialistic than ever before. Their happiness is dependent on the things they have bought as compared to others and whether they fit in the trend. This makes the society very narrowminded

I find shopping very interesting and helps me calm my axiety, specially when after studying for 8-9 hours a day. I believe, if done in moderation, people can reduce the negative impacts on themselves and the society.