Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today’s era, most of the people are enjoying to do shopping in their free time whereas, some believe that despite having positive effects, it also has some adverse effects as well. The following paragraph will reflect on both the views with a brief conclusion.

Shopping is gaining popularity due to marketing and even new things coming into the society due to which, youth nowadays use to spend most of their time in purchasing things for themselves, such as buying clothes, accessories, stuffs for their homes and so on. In this way, they not only pass their time but also find themselves relax which puts a good effect their body. For instance, one of my aunt used to do shopping in her thirties whenever she felt stressed due to excessive work. She also told me that by doing this she gets herself busy and diverted her mind from her hectic office schedule.

On the other hand, shopping unnecessarily becomes a habit of young generation, due to which they are spending more than their pocket allowance. As a result, their financial conditions are getting worse which ultimately effects their mental health due to lot of stress. To give an instance, my friend Rohan use to buy every new mobile phone that comes into the market. At first, he found it cool but after sometime he felt that he was in need of money but he spent all his money in buying new phones. In that situation, he had no solution rather than asking his close ones for help.

In conclusion, doing shopping for de-stressing oneself is fine but more of it can result in adverse outcomes. Society should engage themselves in other social activities like doing exercises, gaining knowledge from social media, learning new skills rather then just randomly buying things throughout the day. As it is very well said that excess of everything is bad.