Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Shopping is considered an essential activity for most people to fulfill their requirements, however, due to the spread of advertising campaigns, and social media influencers moreover convenience in shopping tools such as malls and online shopping, led to the shopping process becoming prevalent among people. Therefore impacts individuals as well as society positively and contrarily.

To embark on, the additional values of shopping are prominent in the emotional satisfaction to people where it provied them a sense of pleasure and gratification, while in the level of society increasing consumer spending boosts the economy and creates jobs, That means to facilitate a wide range of products and services to the consumer through e-commerce and stores, that required new investments and capitals had injected in the economy. For instance, the national bank report revealed that online shopping contributes rapidly to a rise in the country’s GDP. Hence, what can be said is that retaining shopping practices enhances individual emotions and economics in society.

Despite several of the values of shopping, there is a dark side to carrying negative impacts on a person and group, to illustrate more, shopping as a leisure activity can lead to unnecessary purchases and waste to the client. Moreover, overconsumption contributes to environmental issues like pollution and resource depletion. A prominent example is China which because of an upsurge in production is contributing to an increase in greenhouse gas emissions. What can be said is that the cost of buying superfluous products is not only a monetary cost but also impact on sustainability.

After this essay has manifested the above-mentioned points, it can be said that shopping is a double edged sword that emphasizes buyers feelings and sellers financial meanwhile exaggeration of it is an environmental detriment and harms people mood. I am convinced that shopping can be more valuable when we can do it in portrait of needs and importance