Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There’s no denying in the fact that habbit of shopping is becoming popular as a leisure activity day by day. However, some of us feel that this fact possess both positive and negative effects.

Nowdays, shopping in general has increased a lot, compare to old times. And, there are several factors by which its happening, including, ease of comuit due to better transportation infrastructure, increasing number of malls, even in the smaller towns. These malls are also designed, in order to make the costumers, spending more time and money in the mall that one intended to, they acheived this, by making the mall and its shopping compartments more and more confusing, which makes people go around in loops or in new shopping ailes. This makes customers finding themself in new and different compartments, which ultimately led them to spend more, on things out of their shopping lists.

As shopping gaining popularity, it effects both the individual and the society in various ways. Like, some people enjoys and find peace and fulfilment in spending their time at shopping complexes, which makes sense, as in, today’s time, the life became hectic and often leads to mental unstability. Moreover, Housewifes which spent most of their time at home, outing shopping with friends could be helpful in providing more social interation and let them go outdoor, which lacks in thier daily life.

However, shopping for fun has its own negative effect, like unecessary increase of traffic, especially in the rush hours, as, it have become very common to people to have their own automobiles. Rather, using public transport they often use their own personal vehicals, which also polute the environment and increase in noise pollution.