Some people think the most important element of a person's life is work. Without a satisfying job, life is meaningless. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether work is the most significant thing in people’s lives is an ongoing debate. While I understand many individuals who believe that life without a successful career would be meaningless, I completely disagree with this notion for several reasons that are explained in this essay.

It cannot be denied that work plays a pivotal role in modern society. First and foremost, everyone needs money to run a family, and working is the most legal way to earn money. If we have a better job with a better salary, we can lead the family without any struggles in finance. This leads to a more advanced standard of living, which also results in many benefits for the mental health of family members. A prime example is seen in an article, where the proportion of elders who are happy with their children having a good job dominated the percentage of old people who enjoy their children having a below-average job.

Despite these benefits, I firmly believe that there are many other things of greater importance than a successful career. One of these is relationships with people around, such as offspring and parents. If we spend too much time working to enhance the living standard or social recognition, we may grow more and more apart from the people who are around us. For example, in Japan, many workers choose to take their parents to a nursing home and do not even visit them for long to have more time to work.

In conclusion, while success in a career plays a pivotal role in modern society, providing aspects such as money to run a family or a certain standard of living, I firmly believe that there are many other things of greater importance than that.