Write about the following topic: Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

INTRODUCTION: A few people argue that ancient buildings and houses in urban areas should be fully transformed into modern structures. This idea suggests that old structures are outdated and affect the appearance of the city. However, they are considered to preserve the culture and popularity of particular nations. Namely, Rome has kept its ancient houses to maintain its historical reputation.

MBP1: Nobody doubts that old is gold, but for the purpose of beautifying metropolitan areas, I believe residential homes that do not look attractive should be completely replaced by new buildings. The more modern structures in the city, the more foreign investors are attracted, thus developing the area economically. For instance, a recent report from the East African newspaper demonstrates that the capital city of Rwanda (Kigali) has developed significantly due to a sharp rise in the number of investors, who have been attracted by the city’s smartness and appealing structures.

MBP2: Even though some individuals claim to prefer modernity rather than old-fashionedness, on the other hand, modern buildings are very expensive to rent and maintain. They often require building materials which may be imported from other countries. For instance, constructing a long-lasting flat may require timbers shipped from South America, and strong iron bars from other countries.

CONCLUSION: In conclusion, modern houses are as imperative as old buildings because they keep the city attractive and wealthy, but old buildings are easy to maintain and cost less in terms of renting, and this gives the economically humble residents a smile on their faces.