Some people think the most important element of a person's life is work. Without a satisfying job, life is meaningless. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that career is the most significant indicator of one’s life, reflecting their values and contribution. In my opinion, while I agree that a satisfying career can help life become more meaningful, I believe that other aspects can also create values.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that work plays a vital role in everyone’s life. In the modern world, people tend to spend half of their time at work. Moreover, as the job market is getting more and more competitive, young adults nowadays have to have side-hustles or part-time job in order to provide for themselves and their family. Therefore, if people are dissatisfied with their job, their time at work will become unpleasant. Many individuals suffer from daily burnout, overload and other psychological disorders. In addition, in this career-oriented society, many people start losing their sense of happiness since they are pulled away by the hustle and bustle.

On the other hand, I personally believe that other aspects of life should be appreciated as much as work. Firstly, everyone has their own passion, which is usually ignored by others’ prejudice. For example, in many Asian countries, parents tend to prevent their child from developing artistically talent in order to become doctors and lawyers. Therefore, these offsprings grow up to become miserable workers as they can not discover their own values. Moreover, an individual can still contribute to the society without having a career. For example, volunteers at charities are willing to devote their time and effort to shelter the weak while not getting paid a large sum of money. However, not only do they help people who are in need, they also convey a message of positivity to the whole community.

To conclude, it can not be denied that work is a vital factor of life; however, many other elements like passion or community contribution should also be considered in order to maintain the work-life balance.