Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that there are constant traffic jams in many cities around the world. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many cities are having truble with the amount car owners, because its generating a lot of traffic jams, but can governments do something about it. In this essay I am going to propouse three posible solutions to this.

Firstly: There could be taxes to those automobiles that contaminate more than the average. This policy will cause an instant decrease in the number of car ownership. For example, in Madrid, citizens can only drive a car that does not generate a certain percentage of pollution, and this has had a possitive impact in the city.

Secondly: politicians should communicate to their citizens the importance of using public transport, and this might sound easy but it is not. However, there are many ways to do this, but the most simple one is using comunicational methods, like social medias or tv. Governments need to explain to their people why using public transport is so important.

And thirdly: if the city has many tube lines, trams or buses, it will definitely solve a big part of traffic jam’s problem. For instance, I went to Amsterdam and I was surprised by the lower number of cars that were in the capital, and the cause of this was, because everyone was riding bicycles or using the metro. Consequently, this shows how important is to have good transport methods.

In conclusion, if governments want to reduce the number of cars that they have in their cities, they have to invest a better urban traspotation service, aplicate taxes to especific automobiles and incetivate people to use other ways to transportate themselves.