Childhood obesity has become a serious problem in recent years. What are the primary causes of this? What measure should be taken to reduce childhood obesity?

In this modern era, obesity among children has increased at an alarming rate. Arguably, the dire predicament to this issue is an unhealthy lifestyle. However, the governments can take measures collaboratively to deal with this problem.

The major causes of obesity among children are unhealthy eating habits and lack of physical activities. Daily intake of sugar might increase due to the excessively sugary food advertised for children. For instance, there is often an eye-catching ice cream store near a school area, intended to attract school pupils to purchase through interesting discount. What makes this even worse is a sedentary lifestyle. As children nowadays are typically engaged with their smartphones for a prolonged duration, they become physically less-active, leading to a lack of exercise and other healthy routines. These factors can be detrimental for their long-run health if not well-anticipated.

To tackle this issue, governments, through the support of parents at home should work together to reduce sugar consumption and increase physical movement. To this end, there should be more strict regulations on food advertising aimed at young customers. This policy will be even better when supported with a campaign through sport programs suitable for children to help them build healthier lifestyle. These combined efforts not only improve consumption habits among children, but also enhance their physical fitness and overal wellbeing throughout their life.

In conclusion, children become overweight due to poor consumption habits and decreased physical activities. The situation can be improved through more strictly regulated food advertising and facilitation towards engaging physical activities for children.