Children are now watching more television than they have ever done before. What are some of the negative effects of children watching a lot of television? Do you think young children should be allowed to watch television?

Kids these days are watching more television than they used to. In this essay I will go through some of the side effects of watching too much television for children, and mention why they should be allowed to watch but only in moderation.

Some possible negative effects of children watching a lot of television are addiction to screens and health issues. Kids who spend most of their free time watching television often develop serious addictions to screens that develop into i-pads and mobile phone dependencies as they grow up. Spending a lot of time watching television also can cause obesity and bad eating habits for children due to having this sedentary lifestyle from a young age that encourages limited movement and snacking.

In my opinion, I think children should have access to televisions as they can be a great way to discover interests and learn new information, but this should be in moderation and under constant monitoring from parents. Television can be a gateway for children to discover what they could be interested in and what hobbies they can try out, as there are a lot of programs that focus on education and sports. It can also possibly be a great way to learn new information. For example, watching television in another language can be a great way for the child to get language exposure.

In conclusion, despite the possible negative effects of watching a lot of television for children, I say that they should be allowed to watch but only when supervised by parents. That way, they can benefit from the positive impact of television like discovering interests and learning new information.