Children are now watching more television than they have ever done before. What are some of the negative effects of children watching a lot of television? Do you think young children should be allowed to watch television?

These days people around the world watch television every single day. Some people are concerned about the consequences this tendency may have on young minds. The main negative outcomes for children watching television too much are addiction to the media and inability to hold basic social interactions. Because of these reasons I believe that children should be forbidden from watching TV before turning 14.

In the modern era, everyone is dependent on social media and television. This became an opportunity to escape a harsh reality and forget about day-to-day problems. Children encounter the same problem- the world is too scary and complex, it seems really hard to explore it. TV appears as a comfortable alternative, that does not require any effort. Because of that, it is really easy to get addicted to this kind of activity, as it assures you that nobody will judge or make you uncomfortable. For example, in the US alone, 54% of parents have reported their offspring being addicted to television. Kids do not explore the world as it is and do not make friends, despite it being essential in this age. Later on, as they grow, these kids will not have any experience in socialisation and, therefore, will struggle with social encounters.

Even though television is one the most efficient ways to stay informed, I reckon that the disadvantages and possible risks outweigh the advantages of it. By restricting an access to television, we ensure that our kids will not face the problems discussed before. In addition, by age 14, kids’ minds will get developed fully and will be ready to deal with an enormous amount of information broadcasted on the TV. As an experience has shown in Netherlands, after introducing a new policy that encouraged parents to forbid watching TV for their children, the overall well-being of kids improved by 44%.

In conclusion, the main problems that kids watching an extensive amount of television may encounter are struggles with social contacts and getting dependent on media. Due to these reasons, I think that not allowing children to watch television will guarantee that they will not face such problems in the future.