Children are now watching more television than they have ever done before. What are some of the negative effects of children watching a lot of television? Do you think young children should be allowed to watch television?

With the advent of technological advancements, there are a myriad of entertainment options for the youth. Juveniles consume more television content than they did in the past. This essay sheds light on some of the negative impacts of children watching a lot of television and discusses whether young children should be allowed to watch television.

Watching a lot of television might have a detrimental impact on a child’s concentration. They might not be able to focus on other important activities like studying or playing. Moreover, it might distract them from family life. Children would end up spending more time watching television instead of spending it with their parents. Watching television continuously will lead to an unhealthy addiction. Furthermore, there are chances that the child encounters adult content on television. This will have a bad effect on the child’s mental health. Using electronic gadgets for a long time can also strain children’s eyes. This practice might lead to eye issues when they grow up. Teachers and guardians can engage children in productive activities which do not involve electronic devices.

However, juveniles should not be completely barred from watching television. Today, there are many educational programmes on television. These shows will help them learn concepts faster through creative visualisation. Additionally, watching television is an effective method to engage children. I firmly believe that, children’s access to television should be limited. Parents and guardians should control their screen time and ensure they watch age-appropriate content.

To conclude, I strongly advocate for parental supervision while children watch television shows. This way they can ensure their child’s development and safety.