children facing academic, social and commercial pressures. Causes and solutions.

– In modern society, children are subjected to a lot more pressures than before; these are mainly from academic, social and commercial sources aspects. Academically, the growing competition for higher studies has made the success dependent on achieving outstanding grades from a very young age. The unrealistic expectations put up by parents and teachers often lead to increase in stress, anxiety and depression. Social pressure has also been intensified for reasons such as influence of social media, which children tend to constant comparison of their lifestyle and achievements with others, leads to affecting their confidence and self-esteem. Furthermore, commercial pressures have also been on a rise, like ‘digital advertisement’ of overly optimistic lifestyles and creating on the obsession with the ideology of luxury products.

– To address these problems, parents should create a very supportive environment at home which should focus on personal growth rather than comparison with others. Schools should advocate on improving and encouraging holistic education as by providing a balance in academics and extracurricular activities and awareness programmes

on mental health. Government bodies should also do their part by inspecting regulations that limit aggressive marketing towards children to protect them from consumer product manipulation.