Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some of the advantages and disadvantages of television for children.

In my society, parents allow children spending their free time watching television. Variey of channels and programs attract children to set at home. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of watching T.V. for children.

First of all, cartoons are the most prefered kind of programs to the majority of children. To explain that, children tend to stay inside home to watch their movie and that helps to maintain their safety. For example, setting inside home protects them from car accidents through avoiding them from playing out side or cross streets. In addition to that, improve social interaction between all family members including children force sharing same program in a particular time. For instance, after Iftar in Ramadan all family attend to watch Fawazeer showed in MBC Drama which allow spending good gothering time and lough.

On the other hand, television has disadvantages that can affect childern atitude and personality building. In other words, lack of children awarness when choosing program due to absence of parents main role in educating and monitoring children who to choose their correct program. As an example for that, when childern left alone to see movie above their age. Not only that, but also spending time more than the allowed by parents affects children sleeping quality and deterurate their school concentration and final grades. To give a clear example, statistics show that parents who give their children open time watching T.V., sleep less hours over night and have learning dificulties and delayed mental developmet.