Children who are brought up in families that do not have large amounts of money are better with prepared to deal with the problems of adult life than children brought up by wealthy parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree this opinion?

I do agree to the statement that ‘children brought up in poor families are better prepared to deal with the problems of adult life than children brought up by wealthy parents.

Children of poor parents are prematurely exposed (influenced) to the problems of adult e.g. learning to survive on a low family income and sacrificing luxuries for essential items. These children begin to see the ‘realities’ of life in their home or social environment. Their parent’s own struggles serve as an example to them.

These children are taught necessary skills for survival as an adult from a very early age. Many children e.g. work in the weekends or holidays to either collect some pocket money or even contribute to their families’ income. A good example is the many children who accompany their parents to sell produce (noun: food) at the market. They are making a direct contribution to their families in terms of labor or income. Children of poor families also are highly motivated. They tend to set high goals to improve their economic and social situation. A relevant example would be Mr. Bill Gates (founder of Microsoft Corporation). He has an impoverished background but he used his talent and motivation to set up the worlds largest computer organization.

However, there are some problems that children from poor backgrounds do encounter. Many of these children who are ‘robbed’ of their childhood e.g. while working, may feel cheated. They often turn to crime. This however, is a small group.

In summing up, children with impoverished backgrounds are able to deal with problems of adult life because of early expose, family role models and sheer motivation.