Communication technology provides large amounts of information very quickly. Some say this is a positive development whilst others disagree.

It is commonly believed for communication technology to provide vast sources of data in the matter of seconds. While some assert that it is positive, others’ ideas do not concur. Although I subscribe to the former notion, the latter has some truth.

First off, it is thought to be positive to provide large amounts of information quickly as it brings an ease to people’s lives. This enhancement of their browsing experience serves as a positive development in many cases, since it contributes to a stress-free and more enjoyable learning or research experience. As a student, I am in the world of constant research, where the speed and quality of my work highly depends on this. If this took more time, it would not have been a joyful and engaging activity for me. It makes life easier for many to look for something they have yet to discover. This, yet, might be adverse in some cases —which should not be neglected— despite being positive.

That said, the high feasibility of it to be negative in most cases is the aspect, which makes people assume it to be disadvantageous. Information overload and misinformation proliferation are the primary aspects to which I utterly believe. For the former, as browsed from Google it finds thousands of results in the matter of seconds which makes one bewildered about where to click, which might be negative for people in terms of choosing from them, but positive for the provider- Google. For the latter, in this process of information overload, the rate of misinformation might reach its peak, as people’s tiny minds get blown with vast information. Considering these, I totally believe that regardless of the conveniences it provides, it might be at a disadvantage for the data provided might be biased at some point.

In conclusion, once people are provided with such comforts in their daily lives, they have to take special actions toward evaluating the accuracy of the information.