Companies are using major sporting events to promote their products. Some people think that this has a negative effect on sports in general. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, corporations have used major sporting events for product advertising. Some argue that this adversely affects to sports in general. From my perspective, I partly disagree with this notion because it brings both benefits and drawbacks to sports.

The main reason why I support advertisements in sporting events is that it can cover event planning costs. Event budget events often consumes a large amount of money, which might be a big problem for organizers. Nevertheless, the organizers would have financial ability to organize the complete and quality events with advertising revenues. For instance, thanks to advertising signs placed around the soccer field, soccer tournaments receive numerous sponsorships to run tournaments. Moreover, money received from advertising activities might be a large source of income for athletes, which helps them to pay for daily life costs and nurture passion for sports.

However, there is an aspect of sports that advertising products in sport events has a negative effect on. Some companies have exploited sporting events for promoting their products which might be inappropriate. While sporting events foster a sense of sports spirit and exhort people to participate in sports, some corporations promote products encouraging passive lifestyles. For instance, there are some food companies have sponsored for sporting events to promote featured junk food or sugar-sweetened drinks such as Mc Donalds, Coca Cola, and etc. It is said that consuming fast food and soft drink excessively will lead to increase health-problems such as obesity.

In conclusion, I partly believe that companies promoting their products in major sporting events has a negative impact on sports. This is because it would help organizers cover costs bring large income to athletes. However, there are a number of companied has used sporting events to promote their inappropriate products.