Companies are using major sporting events to promote their products. Some people think that this has a negative effect on sports in general. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, sporting events have become a fertile ground for advertisements, which is believed to have negative consequences to sports. I personally disagree with this statement, and this essay will delineate the reasons.

On the one hand, sports marketing is being used as a platform for promotion can offer both the events and the sports team tremendous benefits. Firstly, advertising can help cover the event planning costs and make the envents more accessible. Internationally-acclaimed sporting competitions can cost the host countries an astronomical amount of money without sponsorships from large corporations. Secondly, sports events are still unaffected by the elements as advertising. For example, the FIFA World Cup and the Olympics have always been the most anticipated sports events since major fators like match fluency and atmosphere still remain intact, despite the enormous amount of advertising here.

On the other hand, sports marketing, which is crucial to the development of sports, yields more advantages rather than its disadvantages. Big enterprises pay tremendous amounts of money to advertise their products at sport events, and this is a major source of income for many parties, including event organisers, sport teams, and athletes. Additionally, it boosts the sales of the respective companies. For instance, if a company sponsors a globally renowned sport teams or athlete, they would seize the opportunity to display their logo on jerseys, posters, and banners. Ultimately, their products pay the attention of audiences, and it becomes a household name in the targeted society.

In conclusion, it is unreasonable to claim that marketing products during sports events are harmful to sports because it has little impact on factors making sports events, teams, and players successful. The development of sports in general is also revealed in this form of marketing.