WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, many fields of science have undergone rapid development. Therefore, many people argue that the topmost priority of science should be to bring comfort to people’s lives. This essay completely agrees with the aforementioned statement due to the technical and medical advancements that we witnessed because of science.

One significant way in which science has improved human lives is through medical advancements.

To begin with, this field has evolved significantly and eradicated many fatal diseases that were common in the past. To explain this point further, there wasn’t a cure for diseases like polio, tuberculosis, and dengue, due to which many people lost their lives. However, at present, these issues can be cured easily due to the advancements in both hospitals and medicines. Furthermore, many scientists have saved countless lives during a deadly outbreak. For instance, during Covid-19, the rapid development of various vaccines helped to stop the spread of the virus, due to advance medicinal science.

Apart from the benefits in the medical category, science has brought a massive enhancement in the technical field. With the introduction of smartphones and optical fibres, video calling is effortless even if the two parties are on different continents. Furthermore, due to the rapid evolution of laptops, students have the leverage to attend online classes, in cases where they are not fit to attend lectures physically. Due to the development of artificial intelligence, there are many queries that are resolved rapidly without any need of human assistance. For instance, the use of AI in coding has helped several people solve their issues without the need to contact their seniors.

In conclusion, science has offered invaluable benefits in both the technical and medical fields. Consequently, its aim should remain unchanged, and it should continue to aid in improving human lives with its advancements.