Compare and/or contrast student life at high school and at university.

The transition from high school to university marks the end of childhood and the beginning of adulthood. Both high school and university are important parts of every individual’s life, including mine. One must obtain high school degree before attending university. There are numbers of differences that a student must be prepared for upon graduating high school and entering the university even though both of them maybe be similar in a few very common ways. In my case, they differ in their types of classes, instructors and personal freedom along with parental involvement.

In my high school years it was easy to make friends or create a good and existing bond with others as our high school was literally homogeneous, like almost all of us came from the same town and background. On the other hand students in our university have diverse backgrounds which is a huge obstacle to form new connections and relationships. Moreover, we began more independent life after entering the university that the life in high school. During my high school, I tended to rely on either my family or teachers for help and guidance. I wasn’t asked to pay for anything let alone food, apartment or transportation, they’re all done by my family’s hepl in high school. In contrast, I am expected to be more self-reliant in the university stage. Completing tasks, preparing for my future career and taking a part-time job to gain experience and all expenses became my own responsibilities which I have to do independently. While in high school we’re told what to do, how to do it and when to do it, in university we’re responsible for our own actions and decisions as we’re considered adults.

Another difference of high school life from university’s is modes of learning. Before teachers would check our homework and if they find any students we’re having difficulties in understanding the subject, they would approach us and help us to identify our weaknesses first and then we would fix them together. In university, professors do check our assignments but they expect us to go to them if we need any assistance or support. In here we have to write our own notes since professors neither ask for it nor order us to do so; and we are required to think for ourselves and face the challenges on our own. Additionally, my high school teachers used to pay more attention to attendance, for our professors in university it’s one of the last things they worry about. As aforementioned we’re adults and we’re held accountable for our doings in this level of life.

In short, both high school and university are key features to build our academic and career success. While university is more of a laid-back approach of education and prepares us for independent life, high school attends to students more, lets us know that we have others to rely on for support.