Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, many people believe that competitiveness is beneficial in this modern society. However, I believe that this has negative effects on people’s mental health and on the development of humanity.

To begin with, being competitive is beneficial in most cases because everyone wants to be better than others. It is good because they will try to avoid mistakes that they made before and try to make it better this time. Once they know they can do better than others it will boost their confidence level. For example, most high school students struggle in their last year of high school. This is because all students want to get into a well-known college. This means that when they see other students succeed they will motivate themselves and try to be in their place next time.

Meanwhile, competitiveness can negatively affect their health. In order to maintain competitiveness, people have to work longer hours, and during their free time they may attend workshops to improve their skills. This means that most people who are very competitive are likely to suffer from physical and mental health. Moreover, they spend most of their time working, which can affect relationships with family members because they didn’t get enough time to spend time together.

In conclusion, competitiveness can help people achieve stable careers in all industries. However, it can negatively impact their work-life balance.