Computers are being used more and more in education Advantage and disadvantage

Nowadays, schools are being equipped with computers to improve the quality of education. Although there are some drawbacks, I strongly believe it leads to better outcomes.

On the one hand, the schools which are using computers to teach students can provide a distance learning environment nonstop even in a pandemy. For example, during the Covid-19, majority of educational institutions managed to deliver lectures via Zoom and keep up with the curriculum without being obliged to cease education. Also, school pupils are able to do extra research for their assignments and presentations with the help of several online educational platforms like Wikipedia. Besides, those who are studying can greatly enhance their academic literacy by attending some online courses that are being offered by top-level educational centers free of charge.

On the other hand, being able to utilize a computer in class would cause a few detrimental effects on learning process. The first major disadvantage for pupils would be the lack of proficiency in basic skills including calculation and spelling as one probably uses calculators and word spelling software to do so. Likewise, responsible education authorities would have to allocate a significant portion of the budget to maintain the school system with necessary tools and staff. A number of technicians and IT professionals are likely to be hired so that devices operate both regularly and properly all the time.

In conclusion, I think implementing computers at schools have more positive effects namely online learning and research despite some possible threats to education.