Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products from anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, globalization has made it possible for people to buy the same products in almost every country. International brands, fast food chains, and technology companies worldwide, make cities look increasingly similar. In my opinion, this is largely a negative development, since it does bring some benefits but also several disadvantage.

On the one hand, the supply of the global products provide an equals access to quality goods. For example smartphone with so many different brand such us apple, samsung are able to buy in many countries. Similarly, international food chain such as McDonalds is the one of familiar meals when traveling, which can be a good choice when visiting a overseas country. Global trade also increases competition between any country, which may improve product quality and reduce prices for consumers.

However, i believe that the negative impact outweigh to benefits. One major trouble is loss of cultural identity. When the standardisation brands more dominating in market place and city centers especially in shopping mall, local businesses and traditional products often ignored. For example, in several districts of the city, small owned restaurants are replaced by international restaurant. As a result, unique local foods and crafts may gradually disappear. From my own experience in Indonesia, I notice that modern shopping centers increasingly feature global brands, while traditional market receive less attention even from young people until adult people in Indonesia. This transformation can week respecting for local culture. In additionally, this may extend the gap between global company and small local product.

In conclusion, although the global availability of products bring luxury and technological progress, it also intimidate the cultural diversity and local businesses. Therefore, I believe this trend is more negative than positive, and governments should take actions to protect and encourage local industries beside the global trade.